Thursday, 5 April 2018


It is a conspicuous fact that a man wearing a suit is in no way different from the same man in traditional attire. His thinking, ideology, reasoning, perspective and policies remain the same. So is the present ruling APC and the former PDP. Nigerians should not expect any spectacular performance from the present administration since it consist of the remnants of the previous administration. APC is an association of disgruntled PDP members who deserted the party not because of its inability to provide the expected leadership direction but due their perceived disproportionate distribution of the booties of the state and inappropriate apportionment of the political offices. The present crops of the bigwigs in Nigeria politics lack political ideology and tenacity to remain in their political parties in order advocate and ensure the implementation of their political manifestos if any. Below is the list of former PDP members who took prominent positions and decisions in the affairs of the state. They are now in APC not because they have better ideas but they have another platform to express their views and advance their interests.
1.              Senate President Bukola Saraki PDP governor for 8 years and senator for over 3 years. He joined the APC in 2014.
2.              Speaker of the House of Representatives; Honourable Yakubu DogaraTwo-term PDP House of Representatives member. He joined the APC in 2014.
3.              Senator Victor Ndoma-Egba PDP senator for 12 years. He defected to the APC last year. He is the serving chairman of the Niger Delta Development Commission board.
4.              Senator Heineken Lokpobiri Two-term PDP senator from Bayelsa state. He defected to APC after the 2015 elections. He is currently the minister of state for agriculture.
5.              Senator Barnabas Gemade Former national chairman of the PDP and senator from 2011 till date. He joined APC in December 2014.
6.              Chief Audu Ogbeh Former PDP chairman. Currently the minister of agriculture
7.              Senator Ita Enang Two-term PDP senator from Akwa-Ibom. He joined APC before the 2015 elections. He is presently the senior special assistant to the president on the National Assembly (Senate).
8.              Governor Samuel Ortom of Benue stateFormer Benue state secretary of the PDP. Former national auditor of the PDP and former minister under President Goodluck Jonathan. He joined the APC in December 2014.
9.              Governor Atiku Bagudu of Kebbi stateA former two-term PDP senator from Kebbi.
10.         Governor Aminu Tambuwal of Sokoto stateFormer PDP Speaker of the House of Representatives. He joined the APC in 2014.
11.         Senator Abdullahi Adamu Two-term PDP governor of Nasarawa and senator in 2011. He joined the APC in 2014.
12.         Senator Danjuma Goje Two-term PDP governor of Gombe state and senator in 2011. He joined the APC in 2014.
13.         Honourable Dakuku Peterside He was a PDP House of Reps member from Rivers state. He joined the in 2014. He is currently the Director-General of NIMASA.
14.         Senator Rabiu Kwankwaso Two-term PDP governor of Kano state and former minister of defence under President Olusegun Obasanjo. He joined the APC in late 2013.
15.         Mr Rotimi Amaechi Former PDP Speaker of the Rivers state House of Assembly. Two-term PDP governor of Rivers. He joined APC in late 2013. He is currently the minister of transport.
16.         Governor Rochas Okorocha of Imo stateHe was a special adviser to PDP's President Olusegun Obasanjo. He joined APC in February 2013.
17.         Senator George Akume Two-term PDP governor of Benue state and senator in 2007. Left the party in December 2010 for the APC.
18.         Governor Nasir El-Rufai of Kaduna state Former FCT minister under President Obasanjo.  Left the PDP in 2010.
19.         Governor Bello Masari of Katsina statePDP Speaker of the House of Reps from 2003 to 2007.
20.         Senator Adamu Aliero Two-term PDP governor of Kebbi state and senator in 2007. Later became FCT minister under Late President Umaru Musa Yar'Adua.
21.         Senator Udoma Udo Udoma Two-term PDP senator from Akwa-Ibom state. He is now the minister of budget and national planning.
22.         Senator Chris Ngige Anambra state governor under the PDP between 2003 to 2006. He is currently the minister of labour and employment.
23.         Senator Andy Uba Recently defected from the PDP to the APC after serving as a special assistant to former President Obasanjo and PDP senator for 5 years.
24.         Governor Simon Lalong of Plateau state Former Seaker of the Plateau state House of Assembly under the PDP.
25.         Senator Joshua Dariye Former governor of Plateau state for 8 years under the PDP.
26.         Engineer Segun Oni PDP governor for 3 years in Ekiti state. He is currently the APC national vice chairman for South west
27.         Governor Ibikunle Amosun from Ogun state PDP senator from 2003 to 2007 representing Ogun central senatorial district
28.         Governor Umar Ganduje of Kano state Two –time deputy governor of Kano state under the PDP.
29.        Musiliu Obanikoro A former Minister of State for Defence, dumped the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) for the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC).

From the above list, it is crystal clear that APC is an Association of Political Cowards. Nigerians cannot continue to be fooled. It is as anti-poor and peopled with corrupt politicians as the PDP. We need a party distinct in ideology and perspective from all the major parties in the country. A party that is workers’, masses’, and youths’ oriented, a party with good manifesto capable of changing and amplifying our image from the present relegated position orchestrated by the corrupt politicians who are managing the affairs the country.
The Socialist Party of Nigeria is the only party with the required political orientation, ideology and manifesto capable of providing good political direction for Nigerians. We propose an economic system characterized by social ownership of the means of production and co-operative management of the economy. A socialist economic system would consist of an organization of production to directly satisfy economic demands and human needs, so that goods and services would be produced directly for use instead of private profit driven by the accumulation of capital that has led us to the present situation.
Nigerians must wake up from our slumbers and embrace socialism as the only preferred option to rescue Nigeria from total collapse.
The idea that brought us here can never take us out of here! Be wise!!!

Com. M.K Shoyombo
SPN Lagos State

No comments:

Post a Comment